Purpose

The sound of metal clangs echo in the far off distance as I stack the bar with another plate. Today is the day I think to myself. Laser sharp focus anchors my spirit to the knurled squat bar. My heart and mind united in anticipation. All else now fades into whisper. A deep sigh escapes my lips as cold steel wraps my scapula.

275lbs.

Doubt, hesitation, but most of all fear is put aside. This my own personal gorgon will be conquered tonight, and afterwards I will look back upon that last second of steady peace the almost infinite second of time when I chose victory over defeat as mine.

 

Leave a Reply

